water-power sites, to acquire or construct oil and steam plants, to construct transmission lines, to purchase power and to enter into contracts with municipalities for the supply of electric energy.

During the years 1929 to 1945, the Commission purchased certain generating plants, and constructed and purchased transmission lines and also distribution systems in towns and villages. These were improved, enlarged or supplemented. Particulars of these acquisitions and constructions are given in the 1941 Year Book and subsequent editions:

On Jan. 1, 1947, Dominion Electric Power Limited, which up to that date had been operated as a wholly owned subsidiary, was completely absorbed by the Commission, and on the same date the properties of Canadian Utilities Limited in Saskatchewan, with the exception of its Lloydminster plant, were acquired and added to the Commission's system.

Including the properties acquired from the private companies mentioned, the Commission at the end of the year 1948 owned and operated 4,190 miles of transmission line and distribution systems in 375 cities, towns and villages served from the system. Steam generating plants with a total installed capacity of 63,950 kw. are located at Estevan, North Battleford, Prince Albert, Saskatoon and Taylorton, while diesel plants with a total installed capacity of 27,435 h.p. are located at Assiniboia, Biggar, Canora, Davidson, Eastend, Grenfell, Hudson Bay, Humboldt, Kindersley, Leader, Maple Creek, Meadow Lake, Melfort, Melville, Moosomin, Nipawin, Perdue, Rosetown, Shaunavon, Shellbrook, Swift Current, Tisdale, Unity, Watrous, Wynyard and Yorkton. The Commission also purchased several blocks of power from one city (Regina) and one power company. Electrical energy was sold retail direct to consumers, except in the cities of North Battleford, Saskatoon and Swift Current and the town of Battleford, where energy is furnished in bulk to the municipal corporations and retailed by them to the consumers. The number of customers served direct at the end of 1948 (including rural services) was 51.237. while the number served by municipalities buying power in bulk from the Commission was 19,772.

During 1947, 132 cities, towns, villages and hamlets were added to the Commission's system, including 64 taken over from Dominion Electric Power, Limited and Canadian Utilities, Limited. In 1948, 32 towns and villages were added to the Commission's system.

In 1947, approximately 465 miles, and in 1948, approximately 650 miles of transmission lines were constructed.

Substantial alterations were made in existing lines radiating out of the City of Saskatoon, including the installation of a new underground cable from the Saskatoon plant to the Commission's substation and switch centre on the outskirts of the city.

In the years 1947 and 1948 substantial additions were made to the Commission's steam generating plants at Estevan, Prince Albert and Saskatoon. In the same years, additions were made to certain of the Commission's diesel plants, and a new diesel plant was established at Moosomin containing two 875 h.p. Busch-Sulzer units; four diesel plants were closed down because of the extension of transmission lines. In the Commission's generating plant at Unity a 520 h.p. gas diesel generating unit and two 800 h.p. natural gas generating units were installed and put in operation.